Combatting the Boring Wall (Week 23)

Posted on

wallHere’s an equation for you. One bare wall + one home alarm panel = a boring and troublesome wall space!

But this is exactly the math I was working with this week. But with a little scavenging in my garage, some quick paint, and a little planning, this is one problem I can solve …  and WITHOUT math thank goodness 😉

This week’s creative project: Combatting the Boring Wall!

If at First You Don’t Succeed: Before I hang any groupings on a wall, I always like to lay out different scenarios on the floor (e.g. instead of playing Hammer n’ Nail Russian Roulette with my wall!). This was especially helpful since I was working around a fixed eye-sore…my home alarm panel, right dab in the center of my wall!

Eeny Meeny Miny Mo! To frame my oh-so-attractive alarm, I did a little digging in my garage. Using old frames for some woodcut prints, and a few more items left unhung since my recent move, the space was quickly filling up. I also found a cool old mirror at a yard sale for $2 and painted it a more neutral cream (More neutral than gold, you say? Yes, I say.). Et voila, for $2 and about 20mins, a boring wall becomes a conversation starter.

 

 

Leave a comment